Home » Uncategorized » THE PERILS OF PROCRASTINATION

THE PERILS OF PROCRASTINATION

tomorrow

Now is the accepted time; behold, today is the day of salvation..  (II Corinthians 6: 2))

 

I’ve known I needed to write this e-votional for some time, but I’ve been putting it off. (Haha)

I admit it!  With the best of intentions, I can be a procrastinator.  I mean to get around to it, really I do.  But I want to find the perfect block of time.  I search for all the right pieces to come together and make it clear.  I’m just too busy right now, but as soon as….

Does this sound familiar?

It’s true.  I do have too much on my plate.  Like you.  So maybe what we need to is declutter, prioritize, and act now!

  1. Declutter.  As we have made (are making) the recent move to our new office, I have become keenly and disgustingly aware of my tendency to clutter.  So much stuff that I’ve held onto for years – papers, objects, all manner of “might-need-this-someday” stuff!  As I was praying this morning, I saw that the material things are symptomatic of my life things.  I’ve held on to too many to-do’s, which clutter up and choke God’s best-to-do’s. In my “stuff” and in my “life stuff,” I’m working on decluttering.  Is that goal resonating with you at all?
  2. Prioritize.  Decluttering makes it possible to prioritize, an essential habit of the people who are most productive in fulfilling their purpose.  Prioritizing declutters some more.  Not long ago, I read an important book on setting and working on priorities, The One Thing, by Gary Keller.  A chronic multi-tasker, I’ve been wrestling with the God-messages in that book ever since.  (Highly recommend the book.)  Too often, I’m guilty of trying to get all the little things done and out of the way so that I can “really focus” on the most important priority.  By the time I’m done with the less important, I’m bushed, and – you guessed it – I’ll get to that priority thing tomorrow, this weekend, when I get a big block of time – etc., etc., etc.

 

Procrastinator-procrastination-273885_400_388

3.  Act now! The cure for procrastination?  Do it now!  Take a small step on the most important thing.  NOW! Doing that brings light for another step, and another, and another. That’s how the right things get accomplished.

No time is going to be perfect.  Something else will be screaming for your attention then. Declutter and prioritize, then ACT NOW!

What priority have you been putting off?  What will you do about that TODAY?

Lord, You know that at times procrastination can be a destructive habit in my life.  I need Your power to change that!  Point me to Your priorities, and give me the courage to take bold small or large steps of action!


Leave a Reply

