Home » Uncategorized » IN THIS CRAZY WORLD, WHATEVER HAPPENED TO WISDOM?

IN THIS CRAZY WORLD, WHATEVER HAPPENED TO WISDOM?

Daily Bible Verse | Verse of the Day | James 1:5 (NKJV)

Who among you is wise and understanding? Let him show by his good behavior his deeds in the gentleness of wisdom. But if you have bitter jealousy and selfish ambition in your heart, do not be arrogant and so lie against the truth. This wisdom is not that which comes down from above, but is earthly, natural, demonic. For where jealousy and selfish ambition exist, there is disorder and every evil thing. But the wisdom from above is first pure, then peaceable, gentle, reasonable, full of mercy and good fruits, unwavering, without hypocrisy. And the seed whose fruit is righteousness is sown in peace by those who make peace. (James 3: 13-18)

If any of you lacks wisdom, you should ask God, Who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to you.  (James 1:5)

(Though these passages are in James, I want to invite you to the Proverbs Wisdom Challenge at our Facebook page, Living on Purpose Community. Each day this month, we’ll read a chapter in Proverbs and share insights from that chapter. Join us in studying and sharing this book of wisdom!)

Sometimes I ask myself the question in the title about ME! As I look back over my life, some of my decisions have not represented my finest moments.  Maybe you have some examples like that in your own life.

So what is wisdom?  And how can we obtain more of it so that at those small junctures of choice, we take the right steps?

Knowledge and wisdom are two different things.  Knowledge is a comprehension of the facts.  Wisdom is knowing what to do with those facts.  Wisdom is knowledge in work clothes!

Are you a wise person?  Do you weigh it out before you decide?  Do you habitually make choices that work well in the long run vs. those that you think will feel good in the moment? How much wisdom do you show in your relationships?  What about financial wisdom?  Are you known at home or work as a reliable go-to person when the situation is complicated and solutions need to be discovered?

James, the brother of Jesus, laid out for us the characteristics of real, godly wisdom.  This kind of smarts can only be gained by experience enlightened by God’s Spirit and His further empowerment in the moment.

James first helped us to understand wisdom by saying what it’s not.  When you see any individual operating in a bitter and jealous spirit, in arrogance, in lying, and in selfishness – that person does not have godly wisdom.  The scripture bluntly says, “That’s earthly.  It’s demonic. It’s not from God.”

Yikes!  Don’t want that!

Godly wisdom, says James, looks like this:

But the wisdom from above is first pure, then peaceable, gentle, reasonable, full of mercy and good fruits, unwavering, without hypocrisy. And the seed whose fruit is righteousness is sown in peace by those who make peace. 

And furthermore, you and I can have it!  We just have to ask, listen, and act on what God says.  I love that He doesn’t get exasperated and roll His eyes when I’m bumfuzzled again, but He gives generously!  He’s glad I asked!  He’s laid out every principle for the decision in His Word.  When you get still before Him for long enough in your asking, He’ll give insight on specific steps in line with those principles for this very situation.  He’s so smart and so generous with His smartness!  I need it!

God, I need Your wisdom!  Help me to see how my “little choices” are actually big ones.  I humble myself before you, and I recognize that my knowledge is so not enough.  You said You’d give wisdom generously to me if I asked.  I’m asking!


Leave a comment